Contact Us Today

News & Resources

Travel Restrictions for 2020

Posted February 3, 2020Stephanie Wedel - Sr. AssociateArticles

On January 31, 2020, President Trump announced the addition of 6 countries to the list for the travel ban – Burma, Eritrea, Kyrgyzstan, Nigeria, Sudan, and Tanzania.  These additional countries will not have a blanket ban on travel to the United States, but rather specific visa types will be restricted.

Burma, Eritrea, Kyrgyzstan, and Nigeria will have restrictions on immigrant visas. Immigrant visas allow foreign nationals to enter the U.S. as legal permanent residents, rather than temporary visitors

Sudan and Tanzania will have restrictions on Diversity Visas.

These restrictions will take effect on February 21st.  These new restrictions affect only immigrant visa processing for those who have not yet received an immigrant visa.  Intending immigrants who have a valid visa, but have not yet entered the U.S. will still be permitted to do so.  Legal permanent residents from these countries can continue to remain in the U.S. while they continue to meet the terms of their residency.

Nonimmigrant visas will still be issued for these countries.

If you have any questions regarding the impact of the travel ban, please reach out to your designated Meltzer Hellrung attorney.